Chief Executive Leadership Award

CASE District VI is pleased to offer this prestigious award to recognize outstanding leadership and service in support of education. We invite nominations of chief executives whose contributions to their campuses and communities deserve exceptional notice and praise.

The CASE District VI Chief Executive Leader Award is presented annually to an outstanding president, chancellor, head master or system head of a District VI CASE member institution. Executive directors and/or presidents of institutionally related foundations and/or associations are not eligible for this award.

2019 Chief Executive Leadership Award: Dr. Hal Higdon, Chancellor, Ozarks Technical Community College System, Springfield, Missouri

Dr. Hal HigdonDr. Hal Higdon serves the Ozarks Technical Community College System as chancellor and serves as president of the OTC Springfield Campus. Prior to his time at OTC, Dr. Higdon served 13 years in administration with Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College. He also worked in human resources and workforce training at Alabama's Faulkner State Community College and spent several years in private business.

Throughout his career, Dr. Higdon has been heavily involved in a variety of community service organizations. He currently serves as a Vice President of the Board of Directors of CoxHealth Systems and as a member of the Springfield Business Development Corporation, in addition to the Community Relations Board of the U. S. Medical Center for Federal Prisoners, the Burrell Behavior Health Board and the Board of Directors for the United Way of the Ozarks. Dr. Higdon is also a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Advisory Board.

Dr. Higdon recently held the position of vice-chairman of economic development for the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He also served as chair of the Presidents and Chancellors Council of the Missouri Community College Association (MCCA), which represents community college interests in the state legislature and professional and governmental agencies.

Born in Decatur, Alabama, Dr. Higdon holds a degree in business from the University of Alabama and a master's and Ph.D. in higher education from the University of Southern Mississippi.

Past Recipients:

2018 - Dr. Michael Ash, President, Southeastern Community College, West Burlington, Iowa
2017 - Dr. John Christensen, University of Nebraska Omaha

2016 - Dr. Donald M. Claycomb, State Technical College of Missouri
2015 - Dr. Maryanne Stevens, RSM, President, College of Saint Mary
2014 - Dr. David L. Chicoine, President, South Dakota State University
2013 - Kirk H. Schulz, President, Kansas State University
2012 - Dr. Richard F. ( Dick ) Celeste, Colorado College, CEO Retired
2011 - Dr. David Maxwell, Drake University; Dr. David L. Sallee, William Jewell College
2010 - John F. Carney III, Chancellor, Missouri University of , Science and Technology
2009 - Dr. Edward H. Hammond, Fort Hays State University; Dr. Dean L. Hubbard, Northwest Missouri State University
2008 - Ben Ernst, President, Ranken Technical College; Dr. Jerry Farley, President, Washburn University
2007 - Jack R. Ohle, President, Wartburg College
2006 - Jon Wefald, President, Kansas State University
2005 - Dr. Daniel M. Lambert, President, Baker University
2004 - Philip L. Dubois, President, University of Wyoming