Distinguished Service Award

This award honors persons with exemplary professional service to CASE and District VI, including active involvement in the advancement profession for a minimum of eight years. Including:

  • Professional employment with CASE VI member institutions for a least eight years
  • Regular attendance at CASE VI meetings
  • Volunteer service to CASE sponsored conferences, programs, and activities
  • Outstanding achievement in the total spectrum of endeavors represented by CASE's objectives for the advancement profession

2019 Distinguished Service Award: Mark Jastorff, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Fort Lewis College, Durango, Colorado

Mark Jastorff has been active with CASE since 1981. His nearly 40-year career spans two districts, four states, six schools, 21 different job titles, and 10 presidents. At every stop, his teams created traditions, raised millions of dollars, and set the roots for generations of future leaders. Along the way, Mark's days have been focused on making great things happen for the thousands of students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends impacted by his work. He has mentored dozens of students and young professionals, opening the doors of opportunity in the world of institutional advancement for many of them.

His roles in CASE range from the early days of co-advising the SAA/SF Network (now ASAP), volunteering and presenting at numerous District conferences, serving on the faculty of three CASE national workshops, and 10 years on the District VI Board of Directors, including stints as Awards Chair and as Chair. It is a bit of CASE trivia that he and daughter, Tiffany, are the only father-daughter team to be honored as ASAP Outstanding Advisor and Outstanding Student Leader Award recipients. Another bit of history: his mentor at Black Hills State - Chuck Schad - received this same service award in the early 1980s.

Jastorff serves as Vice President of Institutional Advancement at Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado.

Past Recipients:

2018 - No award recipient
2017 - Sheri Irwin-Gish, University of Nebraska Lincoln
2016 - Lee Denker, University of Nebraska at Omaha Alumni Association
2015 - Todd McCubbin, Associate Vice Chancellor of Alumni Relations; Executive Director, University of Missouri Alumni Association
           Kevin Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, Dickinson State University Foundation
2014 - Mary Feller, Executive Director, Craig Hospital Foundation
2013 - Cora Zaletel, Executive Director, External Affairs, Colorado State University-Pueblo
2012 - Erin Verry, Maryville University
2011 - Curtis Crespino, University of Missouri - Kansas City
2009 - Sherri Schmidt, North Dakota State University; Jerry Weakley, Baker University
2008 - John Amato, Des Moines University
2007 - Keri Drinka, North Dakota State University
2006 - Diane Calbeck, Drake University
2005 - Kenneth Converse, Buena Vista University
2004 - Cornie Wassink, Northwestern; Gerald Anglum, University of Northern Iowa
2003 - J. Todd Coleman, University of Missouri
2002 - Andrew Careaga, University of Missouri-Rolla; Paul Chewning, former CASE VP for Professional Development
2001 - Paul Kincaid, Missouri State University
2000 - Susan Chilcott, University of Northern Iowa
1999 - Dale Seuferling, University of Kansas
1998 - Jack Ohle, Drake University; Charlotte Million, University of Denver
1997 - Judy Jasper, Washington University
1996 - Lou Cartier, University of Nebraska-Omaha; Amy Button Renz, Kansas State University
1995 - Patricia J. Morocco, Bellevue University
1994 - Carol D. Tally-Davis, University of Missouri-Kansas City
1993 - Carolyn Smith, Colorado Academy; James C. Miller, North Dakota State University
1992 - Murray M. Blackwelder, Iowa State University
1991 - Phyllis Lepke, Iowa State University; Art Loub, Kansas State University
1990 - Dr. Guy Horton, University of Missouri Systems
1989 - Gary Timmer, Central College
1988 - James Hopson, Iowa State University; Frederick Sudermann, Wichita State University; Barbara L. Yalich, Colorado College