Volunteer of the Year

This award is presented to persons outside CASE who have given time, talent, and/or gifts to further the success of education through a CASE VI member institution. The award reflects:

  • Voluntary service to education only
  • A diversity of service to education and the CASE VI member institution

Submit a nomination for the 2019 award.

2019 CASE VI Volunteer of the Year Award (2)Lawrence and Marilyn Matteson, Southeastern Community College, West Burlington, Iowa; John Anderson, University of Missouri

Gordon TraftonAfter his high school graduation in 1948, Lawrence Matteson and his brother Eugene went to work cutting timber along the Mississippi and Skunk Rivers. Throughout the '50s and '60s, Matteson used his natural ability for machine engineering to work in production, machining, and maintenance at J.I. Case Company and Murray Ironworks in Burlington, all while maintaining the family farm. In 1970, Matteson became a heavy equipment operator, building and moving machinery, and maintaining the fertilizer containment ponds at First Miss fertilizer company near his home. Two years later he bought a used dredge and signed a contract to maintain First Miss' containment ponds and barge loading facility along the Mississippi River. He picked up additional work digging ponds and removing silt from lakes and soon purchased a second dredge.

Matteson developed a reputation as an innovator, one of his strongest competitive advantages. Some projects involved designing and building machinery from scratch that could remove millions of cubic yards of sand and silt and push it through huge portable pipes over a mile long. L.W. Matteson Company would go on to become the largest fresh water dredging and marine construction company in the US.

After selling the dredging half of his business in 2011, he and his wife Marilyn decided to "experience the joy of giving while living." Their first gift was $10 million to Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN to support a cancer treatment education and research. Next was $1 million dollar gift to their local hospital's emergency room renovation. Then, with a worker shortage in the skilled trades affecting the Mattesons' ability to hire quality employees at their marine construction firm, they established technical and health scholarships to benefit Southeastern Community College students and students from southeast Iowa who are pursuing an education in career technical or health programs. Since 2012, nearly $500,000 in Matteson awards have helped more than 300 students. They also fund four continuing scholarships for bachelor degree completion.

In 2014 the Mattesons pledged $3.5 million to SCC's Building the Dream campaign. It is the largest gift ever received by SCC and it motivated others to give so that SCC could achieve its $12 million campaign goal.

The Mattesons have humbly used their affluence and influence to directly benefit SCC, its students and the communities it serves by supporting facilities improvements, career program updates, student scholarships, donor recognition, and workforce development.

Richard BallentineJohn Anderson, BJ '87, is a true tiger. You may know him as anchor of ESPN SportsCenter or co-host of Wipe Out!, but John is an incredible ambassador for his alma mater. His career in broadcast has taken him across the country, but he has stayed active as a volunteer, donor, and advocate for MU. In 2002, John served as Homecoming Grand Marshal. Two years later, he joined the Mizzou Alumni Association's Sesquicentennial Celebration Committee.
One of John's biggest commitments to Mizzou was sharing his time and leadership as a member of the Jefferson Club Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees directs the activities and business of the Jefferson Club, the University's premiere recognition society, and serves the Office of Advancement in an advisory capacity related to best practices for stewardship and donor relations. John was a member from 2011-2018 and served as chair from 2016-2018.

As a former letter-winner, John is a member of Varsity M. He also volunteers for Mizzou Athletics. John shared media training tips with Mizzou athletes in September 2016 as part of their Mizzou Made curriculum. He has talked with members of the Mizzou football team on multiple occasions, often sharing the advice of his track coach at Mizzou. Additionally, John is a donor and continues to invest in the lives of student-athletes to ensure they are successful both on and off the field of competition. John became a life member of the Mizzou Alumni Association in 1994.

In addition to his service, John is a generous donor to Mizzou. He established the Walter and Karen Collins Unrestricted Endowment in Journalism in honor of his parents and created and supports a scholarship program at ESPN exclusively for Mizzou students.

Aside from his service to Mizzou, John and his wife, Tamara, also established the Anderson Family Charitable Foundation. They have hosted several events in Columbia including a walk/run and golf tournament. Established in 2009, the foundation focuses on providing assistance to under-served elementary school-aged children in the public school system and their families. To date, the foundation has provided more than $325,000 to help under-served children in public schools including Columbia.

Prior Recipients:

2018 - Gordon Trafton, University of Colorado Boulder, Leeds School of Business, Boulder, Colorado; Richard G. Ballantine, Fort Lewis College, Durango, Colorado
2017 - Richard Miller, University of Missouri
2016 - Patricia Macdonald, University of Missouri-Kansas City
2015 - Steve Richardson, University of Missouri-Columbia
2014 - Judith A. Kuergeleis Schmuck, William Woods University
2012 - Susanne Richardson Teel, (nominated by Baker University); Kurt and Sue Watson, (nominated by University of Kansas)
2011 - Jerome J. "Jerry" Lohr (nominated by South Dakota State University); Angela Bennett, (nominated by UMKC)
2008 - Richard (Dick) Monfort (nominated by University of Northern Colorado)
2007 - Larry McMullen (nominated by University of Missouri)
2006 - Donald Lamberti (nominated by Buena Vista University)
2005 - Curt Frasier (nominated by Kansas State University)
2003 - Jeannette Nichols (nominated by University of Missouri-Kansas City)
2002 - Richard Small (nominated by Cornell College)
2001 - Dane and Polly Bales (nominated by University of Kansas)
2000 - Max and Lois Hubbard (nominated by Wichita State University)
1999 - Mary Kay McPhee (nominated by University of Missouri-Kansas City)
1998 - Bob and Barbara Eddy (nominated by Iowa State University)
1997 - Dr. Ralf J. Thomas (nominated by Pittsburgh State University)
1996 - Owen J. Newlin (nominated by Iowa State University)
1995 - Madelyn M. Levitt (nominated by Drake University)
1994 - Paul "Buck" Gallagher (nominated by North Dakota State University)
1993 - Joseph Cannon (nominated by Emporia State University)
1992 - Warren Kiederich (nominated by North Dakota State University)
1991 - Ruth Holtan (nominated by Waldorf College)
1989-90 - Dawn Wells (nominated by Stephens College)
1988 - Col. David Wege (nominated by the U.S. Air Force Academy)